Wednesday, February 21, 2018
County Clerk Home
Fictitious Business Names
Legal Document Assistant
Obtaining a Marriage License
Name Equality Act
Duplicate Marriage License
Certified Copy of Marriage License
Unlawful Detainer Assistant
The County Clerk’s office issues marriage licenses Monday through Friday (except holidays) from 8:30 am to 4:00 pm. To marry in California, the couple must first obtain a marriage license from the County Clerk’s office. You do not need to be a U.S. citizen or California resident to apply for a marriage license.
If you are 17 years of age or younger, you must call the Kern County Probation Department at (661) 868-4100 before you can purchase a marriage license.
TO OBTAIN A MARRIAGE LICENSE YOU MUST MEET THE FOLLOWING REQUIREMENTS:
A blood test is not required.
There are two common types of marriage licenses available in the State of California: a Public License and a Confidential License.
See the chart below for specifics on each type.
NOTE: Marriage Licenses are valid for 90 days from the date of issuance. If you do not get married within 90 days, the license will be invalid AND you must re-apply and purchase a new license.
Stay Connected with Kern County:
Site maintained by
Website Usage Policy